What is the Transaction Detail Page?
The Transaction Detail Page is a full page that breaks down the details of a transaction within your TaxBit account.
You can edit almost every field in the transaction! Please note, there are limitations on the Transaction Type you can change, depending on the type of transaction you are editing.
Fees are broken into a separate section to help with identifying when it’s a part of the Proceeds or Cost Basis.
There are also dynamic titles and subtitles to make it more clear as to what is happening in the transaction that you are viewing.
Need help from Support about a specific transaction? Rather than sending screenshots, you can copy the URL to a transaction and send it over via email or chat to locate that particular transaction easier.
Where do I view the Transaction Detail Page and Edit Transactions?
Once you've logged into your TaxBit account:
- Go to the Transactions tab on the left-hand side of your account.
- Click on the transaction you need to edit or want to view the details of
- Once you click the transaction the Transaction Detail Page will appear like this:
- For editing, click Edit in the top right hand corner
- Fill out the fields on the right side of your screen to edit
If you’ve manually added a transaction, or the transaction has been uploaded via a CSV, and you need to edit part of the transaction here are some of options you have when editing your transaction fields:
- Transaction Type
Can I edit the transaction to add Cost Basis?
There is no Cost Basis editing at this time. It is known that users would like this functionality.
If I edit a transaction that comes through via API will it revert back to how it originally came through?
It has been tested that if you edit transactions that come through via API that once a resync has been completed those edits will remain, unless you are deleting the transaction that will come back through the API.
Example: You have Coinbase connected to your account via API. There is a transaction that came through the API that you want to delete, so you remove the transaction. The next time that you go to sync your Coinbase connection, the transaction that you deleted will repopulate in your account.
What if I have missing cost basis due to transactions being out of order?
You can now edit the time of your transactions to ensure they are in the correct order to establish your cost basis properly. For further information check out: Transactions Out of Chronological Order
Please Note: If you delete a transaction that came through via API, once you run a successful sync in your account again, the transaction will repopulate*
Still have questions? You can interact with our Chatbot by selecting the Chat Widget located at the bottom right side of your screen, or send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org and we'd be happy to help!
Disclaimer: Keywords below are added to articles to enhance searching for content within our Help Center.